top of page
  • Writer's pictureCrystal Making Gainz

Progress Not Perfection


It's incredibly easy to get caught up in an idea of everything being perfect before starting something. Whether it's focusing on losing weight and getting fit, tackling debt, starting a new college course, moving to another country, or opening a new business, people have a tendency to hold off and wait. Making excuses becomes the norm and putting off whatever was on the agenda only becomes easier over time. Why? Why do people wait until everything is perfect? It seems like people wait for the planets to be aligned properly, their horoscope to predict that today will be the day to start a project, the sun to be shining perfectly without a cloud in the sky, and a magical unicorn to appear in their vicinity with a leprechaun holding a pot of gold on its back before taking the steps necessary to start something they've wanted to do. Maybe it's not that drastic, but I think you get the idea.


The time has come to remove limiting beliefs and realize that the idea of perfect will never really happen. Something will always cause the perfect time to slip away; a family emergency, losing a job, an illness, etc. What can you do? Get started. I can tell you from personal experience that when I started my YouTube channel, I completely threw myself into an unknown territory and didn't know what to expect. I had done my research by reading multiple articles and blogs along with watching numerous YouTube videos about getting started, but it wasn't the same as actually executing my ideas and starting the process. I had to completely immerse myself into an area I wasn't familiar with to begin something I was interested in doing.


What It All Taught Me

I had to learn to be comfortable with feeling uncomfortable. What I realized is that no matter what you want to do in life, you must start somewhere. Start anywhere. It's better to start and not be perfect than wait until the perfect time to only realize it won't ever come. One of the tendencies people have is to question what other people will think about their decisions and it only causes them to procrastinate. I've had to learn throughout all of my experiences that what other people think of my decisions is a reflection of themselves and not me. Doubt, fear, and insecurities won't ever help you proceed in the direction you want to go; don't allow yourself to become a victim of your mind or what other people think.


I Have Questions!

You may be wondering how to get started or what to do. The basic and most fundamental step is to figure out the primary reason why you want to do something. Is what you want to do meaningful? Will it add value to your life? What is the outcome you are looking to achieve? It will be much easier to be persuaded to avoid what you want to do by yourself or others if you don't have a valid reason why it's important to you. Once you've determined why you want to do something, put in the research to cover all of your bases. Learn about the topic; read books, analyze data, ask experts, and most importantly, ask questions. I always try to learn as much as possible to educate myself and I know that once I've reached a certain point, I'll gain enough confidence to pursue what I want to do. One tip is to make sure you give yourself a set amount of time to explore your ideas and what you want to do, otherwise you may continue to procrastinate and never actually begin the process.

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf said it best, "The size of your dreams must always exceed your current capacity to achieve them. If your dreams don't scare you, they aren't big enough." Some people will try to convince you that your goals are too ridiculous, but they're projecting their own insecurities on you. Learn to listen to yourself. Stop listening to others and start focusing on you. Are the people providing their opinions in a place where you see yourself in the future? Are they successful or doing what you want to be doing? If you can't picture yourself in their shoes, you need to figure out why you're listening to them. Gain insight from those that are living the type of life you want to live.


Final Thoughts

I used to seek perfection everywhere I turned until I realized it was a complete waste of time and only held me back from doing the things I wanted to do. Perfection was merely an illusion that I thought was real for many years. Along my journey to becoming the greatest version of myself, I had to learn that someone will always be a critic and attempt to place their own insecurities on me because they don't have the courage to pursue what they want in life. Taking steps, even small steps, will benefit you more in the long run than continuing to wait for the perfect time.


It's time for you to discover what you want to do, stop waiting for everything to be perfect, and get started. Create a timeline of everything you want to do and follow it. Along the way you may determine your ideas need to be adjusted, but that's a normal part of the process. As long as you're starting your journey, progressing in the right direction, and executing your plan, that's all that matters.


If you're still apprehensive about what you want to do and are waiting for the perfect time, ask yourself this, "Do I want to be in the same place 10 years from now because I have been waiting for the perfect time?" I didn't think so.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page